The UW Office of Merit Scholarships, Fellowships & Awards have nominated four UW Bioengineering undergraduate students for its campus nominees for 2015-16 Goldwater Scholarships. All nominations to the scholarship program submitted by UW for the 2015-16 awards cycle were BioE students. The nominees are:

  • Ian Andrews
  • Alice Bosma-Moody (double major in Neurobiology and Bioengineering)
  • Gina Hansen
  • Lael Wentland

The Goldwater Scholarships, offered by the Barry Goldwater Scholarship and Excellence in Education Program, is a national merit scholarship program that fosters and encourages excellence in science and mathematics. The program was authorized by the United States Congress in 1986 to honor Senator Barry Goldwater, who served the United States for 56 years as a soldier and statesman, including 30 years of service in the U.S. Senate. This program pays tribute to the leadership, courage and vision of Senator Goldwater. The program, as stated in its enabling legislation, is to alleviate the current and future shortage of highly qualified scientists, mathematicians and engineers and provide a continuing source of individuals to serve in academic study and research.