2015 BioE Awards Announced

The 2015 BIOE Awards for Faculty Teacher/Mentor, Graduate Student Mentor, Graduate Student TA and Staff were announced on Tuesday, May 19 during the annual Rushmer Lecture. This year's awardees are Suzie Pun, Nuttada Panpradist, Ted Chen and Colleen Irvin.

By | May 20th, 2015|

BioE teams Hook and EcoStream receive top honors in 2015 Alaska Airlines Environmental Innovation Challenge

Student and staff researchers from BioE helped two teams take home top honors at April’s UW Foster School of Business 2015 Alaska Airlines Environmental Innovation Challenge. The teams pitched Hook, a home automation solution, and EcoStream, a water conservation system that aims to make saving water fun and easy.

By | May 12th, 2015|

Paul Yager, Leslie Chan and Christopher Adams receive 2015 College of Engineering Awards

uW Bioengineering Professor Paul Yager, Ph.D. candidate Leslie Chan and Molecular Engineering and Sciences Institute building coordinator Christopher Adams have been selected for 2015 College of Engineering (COE) Awards.

By | April 30th, 2015|

Daggett Lab’s Clare Towse named 2015 UW Postdoc Mentor of the Year

Clare Towse, a senior fellow in Valerie Daggett's lab, has received the 2015 UW Postdoc Mentor of the Year Award. This award recognizes and honors the tremendous role postdocs play in student research and training at UW.

By | May 7th, 2015|

Shivani Gupta receives Society of Women Engineers scholarship

UW Bioengineering Ph.D. student has received the 2015 Ada I. Pressman Memorial Scholarship. This $5,000 scholarship recognizes Shivani's outstanding academic achievement and strong engineering potential.

By | May 1st, 2015|

Buddy Ratner named 2015 Langmuir Lecturer

Buddy Ratner, UW professor of bioengineering and chemical engineering and the Michael L. & Myrna Darland Endowed Chair in Technology Commercialization, has been selected as a 2015 Langmuir Lecturer.

By | April 8th, 2015|

Three UW Bioengineering undergraduates receive Goldwater Scholarship Awards

UW Bioengineering undergraduates Ian Andrews, Alice Bosma-Moody and Gina Hansen have received Goldwater Scholarship Awards for the 2015-16 academic year. Earlier this year, four BioE students were nominated for the prestigious scholarship program. All Goldwater Scholar nominees from the University of Washington in 2015 were from BioE.

By | March 31st, 2015|

Undergraduate Abbi Helfer to participate in Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center Summer Undergraduate Research Program

UW Bioengineering undergraduate Abbi Helfer was selected for the Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center Summer Undergraduate Research Program (SURP). Abbi will work in the lab of Dr. Hans-Peter Kiem, whose research focuses on stem cell biology, and stem cell gene transfer to treat patients with genetic and acquired diseases.

By | April 13th, 2015|

Undergraduate Kadin Brooks selected for Stanford Summer Research Program/Amgen Scholars Program

UW Bioengineering undergraduate Kadin Brooks has been selected as an Amgen Scholar and will participated in the 2015 Stanford Summer Research Program (SSRP)/Amgen Scholars Program. He'll live on-campus at Stanford University from June-August and work full-time on a research project focused on cell biology.

By | April 13th, 2015|

Undergraduate Lael Wentland to participate in Engineering World Health Summer Institute in Tanzania

UW Bioengineering undergraduate student and peer advisor Lael Wentland has been chosen to participate in the Engineering World Health (EWF) Summer Institute in Tanzania.

By | April 8th, 2015|